Skip to main content
First Team

SD Eibar conclude pre-season campaign with six wins & four defeats

Mendilibar's men now head into the final week before the start of the LaLiga season

Yesterday's triumph in the 47th Carlos Lapetra Memorial-City of Zaragoza Trophy saw SD Eibar bring the curtain down on their 2017/18 pre-season campaign, which they end with six wins and four defeats from their 10 outings.

The players have been given today and tomorrow off and will return to work on Tuesday ahead of their LaLiga opener on Monday 21 August against Málaga CF at La Rosaleda (22:00 kick-off).

José Luis Mendilibar has planned sessions for this week from Tuesday through to Sunday at Atxabalpe all beginning at 10:30, with Friday the only day the team will be given off.

The Armeros opened their pre-season campaign with two fixtures in Gipuzkoa, which both ended in victory, a 3-1 success against Real Unión and a 4-0 triumph over Barakaldo, before heading off for their training camp in Austria. The team played four games on Austrian soil, claiming two victories (4-2 over Leeds and 3-1 against Alanyasport) and slipping to two 1-0 defeats (against Watford and Schalke 04).

Upon their return to Eibar, the squad embarked on a mini tour of Green Spain, which saw them suffer a 3-2 reverse at the hands of Sporting Gijón in a game played in the Asturian town of Villaviciosa and a win over Real Oviedo in the Cantabrian town of Torrelavega.

Eibar brought their pre-season campaign to an end this weekend as they succumbed to a 2-0 defeat against CA Osasuna at El Sadar on Friday night, before yesterday claiming the City of Zaragoza trophy following a 2-0 triumph over Real Zaragoza at La Romareda.

In their 10 run-outs, Mendilibar's side found the net 19 times and were breached on 11 occasions. Eibar's top goalscorers in pre-season were Kike García and Sergi Enrich, who both netted three times. Meanwhile, Nano Mesa and Ander Capa both notched two goals apiece. Other Eibar goalscorers were Imanol Sarriegi, Anaitz Arbilla, Paulo Oliveira, Gonzalo Escalante, Iván Alejo, Bebé, Alejandro Gálvez and Takashi Inui, all of whom struck once, whilst Eibar also netted courtesy of an own goal from Real Zaragoza's Alberto Benito.