Zaragoza claim Lapetra Memorial Trophy after penalty shoot-out win

The Armeros staged a two-goal second-half comeback and also missed a penalty


13/08/2016 23:30

Real Zaragoza lifted the 46th Carlos Lapetra Memorial-City of Zaragoza Trophy, as the hosts edged past SD Eibar on penalties (6-5), after the game had ended 2-2.

Three former Eibar players, goalscorers Ángel and Manu Lanzarote, and Xabi Irureta, who saved two penalties - one during normal time and another to seal victory for his side in the shoot-out - were instrumental in the Zaragoza victory.

The Aragonese outfit dominated in the opening half and capitalised on an error in the Eibar backline to get their noses in front through Ángel Lanzarote. With 21 minutes on the clock, Lanzarote latched on to a long through ball to get in behind the Eibar defence before slipping the ball under Joel.

Four minutes later, a Gonzalo Escalante challenge on Cani saw the referee point to the spot and Manu Lanzarote stepped up to double the hosts' advantage.

Before the interval, Eibar came close to reducing the deficit, but an effort from youngster Iker Amorrortu - who was heavily involved throughout - came crashing back off the bar.

The second period saw a more determined Eibar display, as the Armeros upped their game and offered a greater cutting edge. A 56th-minute Asier Etxaburu inswinging corner from the right was powered home by Mauro Dos Santos, who beat Irureta to the ball to reduce the arrears.

Eibar kept pressing and on 63 minutes Sergi Enrich forced a penalty, but Irureta guessed right to turn Florian Lejeune's spot-kick away.

José Luis Mendilibar's charges continued to dominate and duly equalised after a fine piece of individual play from Takashi Inui. The Japanese international drove down the left flank and unleashed a powerful right-footed strike from outside the box which Irureta was unable to keep out.

The game ended 2-2 and next up was the drama of the penalty shoot-out. The hosts successfully converted their six spot-kicks, whilst Irureta saved Eibar's sixth penalty from Inui to hand Zaragoza victory.


Goals: 1-0, 21': Ángel. 2-0, 25': Manu Lanzarote (pen.). 2-1, 56': Dos Santos. 2-2, 72': Inui.