Defeat is harsh on Eibar, who were in control until the equaliser

Deportivo staged a comeback after falling behind to Ramis' goal in a game the Armeros didn't deserve to lose


20/08/2016 01:59

Eibar slipped to an undeserved defeat in their Liga Santander opener against Deportivo La Coruña, as the hosts completed a comeback in the final minutes after Iván Ramis had edged the Armeros ahead.

This reverse extends Eibar's poor record at Riazor, where they have failed to pick up any points since their top-flight debut. On this occasion, the Armeros come away from A Coruña empty-handed despite meriting more.

The visitors controlled proceedings, particularly during a first 60 minutes in which, without fashioning many goalscoring opportunities, they enjoyed the tactical upper hand against a Deportivo side who faded.

In the second period, Eibar took the lead courtesy of Iván Ramis' 55th-minute header. The defender met Bebé's inswinging corner from the left to glance home with his back to goal.

The goal gave José Luis Mendilibar's side further impetus and the Armeros went on to completely dominate until a defensive lapse saw Deportivo draw themselves level on 69 minutes. Pedro Mosquera found himself completely unmarked in the six-yard box and he slid home Lucas Pérez's free-kick from the right to restore parity.

After the goal, both sides could have won the game and Eibar possessed a greater goal threat, but were left to rue their luck.

With 87 minutes on the clock, Pérez stepped up to convert from the spot after the referee had awarded a penalty for an incident in which the appeared to be very little danger and Eibar were unable to recover from this late body blow.

A disappointing result in Eibar's league opener after Mendilibar's men did enough to have justifiably got something out of a game in which all of three goals came from dead-ball situations.

SDE / J1 LaLiga Santander

2-1 Go Live
  • Lux
  • Fernando Navarro
  • R. Albentosa
  • Juanfran
  • Sidnei
  • Fajr
  • Carles Gil (57')
  • Guilherme (68')
  • Pedro Mosquera
  • Bruno Gama (82')
  • Lucas Pérez


  • Laure
  • Arribas
  • Celso Borges (82')
  • Tytoń
  • Emre Çolak
  • Luisinho (68')
  • Andone (57')
  • Riesgo
  • Capa
  • N. E. Ramis
  • Gálvez
  • Juncà
  • Inui (74')
  • Dani García
  • Bebé (85')
  • Adrián (79')
  • Rivera
  • Kike G.


  • R. Peña (74')
  • Yoel
  • M. M. Dos Santos
  • Sergi Enrich (79')
  • Jota
  • Antonio Luna
  • P. León (85')


Estadio ABANCA-RIAZOR (21.441 spectators)


  • 0-1 (55'). N. E. Ramis
  • 1-1 (69'). Pedro Mosquera
  • 2-1 (87'). Lucas Pérez (p)


Mario Melero López awarded Fernando Navarro (61'), Bruno Gama (64'), R. Albentosa (90') from RC Deportivo y Dani García (68'), Juncà (86'), Kike G. (90') from SD Eibar.